STILLS: A Weekly Collection {Older & Wiser}

They say that as you get older you get wiser. Well yesterday was my birthday…

The past year has been massive. Three years ago I left my secure, high profile job & chose a path more suited to having 4 kids.* It was a choice to be more present in their lives.

Some say that you can have it all… but could I have had it all with that high profile job and still given my all to my kids? This is a question women all over Australia, the world even, ask themselves every day.** Am I enough – to my kids, to my husband, to my workplace…? But the real question is “Am I fulfilled?”

So this year I added a bit of photography into the mix. Something that has always been a big part of me.

I’m pretty hard on myself. I’ve done a lot in my life. But it’s not what I ‘want’ that pushes me to change it up & try new things. It’s how it makes me feel.

I’m not sure that I will ever feel calm or satisfied where I can sit back & say ‘This is it. I made it. I’m here.’ But I’m good. I’m happy with where I’m at. And that’s enough… For now.

23Oct13-Elsie-1
1. Puppy love. She’s now a big part of the family.
Cheeky-Charli-1
2. Cheeky. This week was drama filled – primarily tantrum type “I can do it myself” dramas.
Cheeky-Charli2-1
3. Why not. Naked sandpit play. Just add water.
Harper-29Oct13-1
4. Angel? My first niece. The second is on her way.
Stills-3Nov-1
5. Chalk. Compact, inexpensive, creative & overall the most awesomest ‘toy’ ever.
Stills-cupcakes-1
6. Birthday week. Another year older. Thanks for the beautiful cupcakes Cheryl.
Stills-Physie-1
7. Bling. I spent my birthday at the girls’ Physie Club Comp. Charlotte & Sophia put on an amazing performance for their first year & brought home plenty of bling. Trophy shelf under construction.
Stills-flowers-1
8. Thank you. So lucky to be surrounded by such generous & inspiring people. Near & far.

Have a great week everyone. xo

* That’s not to say it can’t be done, it just wasn’t my cup of tea.
** If you’d like to read more about that controversial balancing act, take a look at this Washington Post article.
 
                                                             [Linking up with the lovely Em at The Beetleshack.]

2 thoughts on “STILLS: A Weekly Collection {Older & Wiser}

    1. Thank you. That’s so lovely of you to say. Your photography is simply beautiful. Watching the ladies do Physie, I can see the beauty in it. Watching my 3yo gives me a good belly laugh & makes my cheeks hurt.

Leave a comment